TOKYO Story (Itinerary & Budget)

Kon’nichiwa!!!

It’s been a while since my last travel blog which basically is because of the pandemic. I know a lot of us, who loves to travel, got cancelled bookings and plans. I actually had 4 flight bookings cancelled which includes a Tokyo trip that supposedly to happen last September 2020. But thank God, pandemic now ended, after 3 years! So, when it is now safe to travel out of the country, I was able to book three international flights, Seoul, Bangkok and Tokyo!

Just a snippet, Japan has always been my dream country to travel initially because my Tatay used to work there and then I got so interested with their culture, the seasons, the places and how high-tech or advance things are. After so many years, trying to save money, travelling to other Southeast Asian countries, I finally had the courage to book for a flight and of course, apply for visa. For my Visa application details, you may read it in my previous post Visa Approved. This tokyo story is a bit long overdue update even if I am really excited to share with you my experience on solo travel at Tokyo.

Okay, so before proceeding to my actual itinerary during my travel, as usual just like my other previous travels, I had some things already booked and paid. I booked my accommodation at Palace Japan Hotel thru Agoda for my 5 days and 4 nights stayfor only 14,104 JPY or 6,000 PHP or just almost a 100 USD. This hotel is located in Minami-senju, about 10 mins walk to the train stations while bus stops are just a block away. There are also a nearby convenient stores such as Lawson and 7 eleven.The room I booked was a private solo room with common bath which is at 8th floor which whole floor are for female solo rooms. Even if it was a common bath, there are 3 bathrooms with 1 bathtub with many cubicles and really spacious area for sink and mirror. During my whole 5 days, I only encountered 3 other guests in that floor. I would definitely recommend this hotel to every solo traveler. The reception also is friendly and they will first tour you around the common areas. There are free coffee, you can use the kitchen if you want to dine there or at least have breakfast or midnight snack, there’s a big table, computer and washing machines.

Other purchase I made before arrival to Tokyo was Unko Museum ticket for 715 PHP, Disneysea ticket for 3,405 PHP, Shibuya Sky ticket for 892 PHP and Tokyo Tower ticket for 477 PHP. I also bought Japan 5G sim in Shopee for 679 PHP, that was good for 8 days with 5 GB data. Then, my flight ticket amounted to 5,210 PHP which I was able to score during Cebu Pacific’s Piso Sale last March. My total prepaid expenses were17,378 PHP and a week before my flight, I managed to request to reserve Japanese Yen at BDO bank so I was able to have my 40,000 JPY pocket money at 0.4062 exchange rate, so I paid 16,248 PHP for it. I think I did overspend already with that 40,000 Yen so overall, during my trip I just managed to budget 33,626 PHP for 5 days stay and travel around Tokyo ALL IN.

My flight was last June 11 from Clark International Airport boarding time at 4AM, I must say, flight during sunrise is the best of all! Even if I did not have enough sleep because I camestraight from work the day before, arrived at our house at 9PM and still have to pack my things then left our house at 1AM, I really did not get any sleep, still, it is so worth it! I love these few times I am able to watch the sunrise, well, coming from not a morning person, I really love the view from darkness and just city lights to a cloudy bright beautiful sunlight! Take note also that I am going to the Land of the Rising Sun! What more else to get excited right?

You know this meme about travelling? (ctto)

At 10AM, I finally arrived at Narita International Airport, for common knowledge, Japan time is one hour ahead than Philippine time. I was still able to take some naps during the almost 5 hours flight. Special thanks to my inflatable neck pillow and to the vacant seats next to me.

As I’ve finished immigration and all airport processes, I went direct to the information counter to ask where to buy Suica Card, it is the most suggested transport card to use when going around Tokyo which it is used as prepaid wallet or know as IC Card, but to my timing, Regular Suica Card is not available so I was referred to get Pasmo Passport. It’s also an IC Card but exclusive for tourist and valid for 28 days only. I bought it for 200 Yen and loaded it 8000 which I used in all my transportation expenses and just spent all remaining load in Airport before I fly back to Philippines.

Since it was still early and scheduled check-in at hotel is 2pm, I just went straight from Narita Airport to Saitama. I just usedGoogle maps, I highly suggest using google maps when you want to go around to Japan and will be transporting via trains or bus. I find trains in Tokyo confusing mainly because there’s a lot, different schedules and it’s like they change from time to time stations? I’m still not sure hahaha. But really thanks to Google maps, trains that stops in stations are very accurate, when it says the train will stop by 10:55AM, the train is actually there at exactly 10:55AM. However, I got really confused between the different kind, example the Rapid Express, the Limited Express, Sub Rapid, Local and so on. Also, the change of train stops like there are times that it will stop at certain station and there are times that it will not. Even after that 5 days stay there; I still did not get used to it so there are moments that I just let the train pass by and wait again for another train or change my way because as I’ve said, it changes from time to time. But, I am very proud of myself when I arrived first than what Google map suggested. It felt like I’m already a part of Tokyo except that until my last day there, I’m still not used to keep left. I happen to bump at people there and I’m sorry.

I went to Saitama to meet my Uncle and his family. They treat me for lunch at a Japanese restaurant and the food there is really amazing! My first meal in Japan and it was a sumptuous one! I ordered a rice bowl meal and there are lots of side dishes that I never ate and seen before. Another thing was you need to remove your shoes when you enter. There are tables that have chairs and there are areas that you will seat on the floor.

The ambiance in Japan is very heart-warming for me and I really like it. People and place itself are somehow silent and gloomybut you can feel and see the respect, cleanliness, honesty, liveliness and care. Do you get me? Hahaha. It’s hard to explain but I appreciate it so much how calming I felt. I think Japan is the best place for introverts just like me.

After hours of bonding with my relatives, they drop me off at the hotel I booked, around 5PM and believe it or not, that’s the time I start to feel tired and sleepy. I just check-in at the hotel, settle my things then just had few walks outside and bought dinner and snacks at konbini.

Finally, I have the time to rest during my first day in Japan but if you know me personally, you might have a thought what time I actually slept. HAHAHA.

On my 2nd day, it was raining to I had to bring an umbrella with me, good thing, the hotel offers free use of it. I went to DiverCity Tokyo Plaza where the Unko Museum is located. The museum is really kawaii (cute). Kids will really have fun there and yeah, coming from me, a kid at heart, enjoyed the activities and taking photos. The place is a bit small but it is worth the price.

I also had lunch in that huge mall, it’s like a food court with a lot of choices.

Just outside the mall is the Unicorn Gundam Statue and a lot of people are also taking photos considering that it was raining that time. Gundam lovers would definitely be amazed with it.

I wondered around the mall for the rest of my time, did shopping at H&M, Uniqlo and GU. Oh my god, GU, I was able to buy clothes that I used the next day. Well, apparently, I thought my trip will be hot weather so I only brought dresses, skirt and shorts but turns out that it’s rainy and windy. Good thing, there’s GU to save me! Would you believe that I was able to buy pants for 390 Yen that’s around 150 PHP. I bought also a blouse at H&M for 399 Yen only!

So basically, that day at the mall, all I did was to spend around 10,000 Yen.

I also went to Round 1 where there a lot of claw machine which per game is 100 Yen and I was able to catch one! Dango Rilakkuma!!!

Another weakness of mine are those gashapon machines! It’s like wherever you are, there are gashapons! There are so many optiond!!! And all are super cute!!!! I got 5 gashapons there. Each is about 300 to 600 Yen.

It’s 5pm already when I decided to go to Euno. I read about Euno is one of the best place to buy pasalubong like goods, clothes, and have street foods.

I just walk around there, buy stuffs and all, which roughly I spent another 10,000 Yen.

At 8pm, my uncle and his friend picked me up at Ueno and we went Koto to eat Okonomiyaki. We also had beer there! Kampai!

It was already 11PM when they drop me off the at hotel. And that’s how my 2nd day in Tokyo ended!

I will post the next days on my next blog post and I will end this for the meantime since I find this too long or am I oversharing already? Haha. Just leave a comment if you want to know more!

XOXO,

Nics 💕

Leave a comment